WEI affiliate honored as AAAS fellow

Jean-Michel Ane among six UW–Madison scholars honored

Wisconsin Energy Institute affiliate Jean-Michel Ané has been named a fellow of the world’s largest general scientific society.

Ané, a professor of bacteriology and agronomy and Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center co-investigator, is one of eight University of Wisconsin–Madison scholars chosen to be fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

He was recognized for contributions to the field of beneficial plant-microbe interactions, particularly understanding the signals that maintain soil quality for environmental sustainability and reduced costs for food, feed and biofuel production.

The lifetime honor, presented annually since 1874, recognizes efforts to advance science and society, with the fellows chosen to reflect the highest standards of scientific integrity and professional ethics. Fellows have included Thomas Edison, W.E.B DuBois, Maria Mitchell, Steven Chu, Ellen Ochoa and Irwin M. Jacobs.  

Jean-Michel Ane Ane

“As we celebrate the 150th anniversary of the AAAS Fellows, AAAS is proud to recognize the newly elected individuals,” said Sudip S. Parikh, AAAS chief executive officer and executive publisher of the Science family of journals. “This year’s class embodies scientific excellence, fosters trust in science throughout the communities they serve and leads the next generation of scientists while advancing scientific achievements.”

The new class of fellows will be featured in the April issue of the journal Science, and each new fellow will be celebrated at a September event in Washington, D.C.