University of Wisconsin-Madison Crest
Wisconsin Energy Institute

Energy Experts

From biofuels to batteries, UW-Madison has a wealth of expertise in energy. This resource connects you to UW-Madison faculty investigating cross-cutting issues in all areas of energy.

For specific media requests, please contact Mary Blanchard.

This directory is intended to serve as a central resource of energy experts throughout the University of Wisconsin-Madison, regardless of college or departmental affiliation. If you are a UW-Madison faculty member working in energy and would like to be added to this list, please email communications@wei.wisc.edu so that we can include you during our next round of updates.

Name Institutional Title Email
Greg Nellis Professor, Mechanical Engineering gfnellis@engr.wisc.edu
John Nelson Adjunct Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering jsnelson4@wisc.edu
Gregory Nemet Associate Professor, La Follette School of Public Affairs gnemet@lafollette.wisc.edu
Dan Noguera Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering noguera@engr.wisc.edu
Michael Oliva Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering oliva@engr.wisc.edu
Marisa Otegui Professor, Botany and Genetics otegui@wisc.edu
Xuejun Pan Associate Professor, Biological Systems Engineering xpan@wisc.edu
Sara Patterson Associate Professor, Horticulture spatters@wisc.edu
Brian Pfleger Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering pfleger@engr.wisc.edu
John Pfotenhauer Professor, Mechanical Engineering pfot@engr.wisc.edu
Kenneth Potter Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering kwpotter@wisc.edu
R. William (Bill) Provencher Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics rwproven@wisc.edu
Gary Radloff Director, Midwest Energy Policy Analysis, Wisconsin Energy Institute gradloff@energy.wisc.edu
Kenneth Ragland Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering ragland@engr.wisc.edu
Ronald Raines Professor, Biochemistry rtraines@wisc.edu
John Ralph Professor, Biochemistry; Plants Leader, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center jralph@wisc.edu
Jim Rawlings Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering rawlings@engr.wisc.edu
Jennifer Reed Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering reed@engr.wisc.edu
Douglas Reindl Professor, Engineering Professional Development dreindl@wisc.edu
Doug Reinemann Professor, Biological Systems Engineering djreinem@wisc.edu
Rolf Reitz Wisconsin Distinguished Professor, Mechanical Engineering reitz@engr.wisc.edu
G. Philip Robertson Professor of Ecosystem Science robert30@msu.edu
Joel Rogers Professor, Administrative Law jerogers@wisc.edu, mbright@cows.org
Thatcher Root Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering thatcher@engr.wisc.edu
David Rothamer Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering rothamer@engr.wisc.edu
Troy Runge Assistant Professor, Biological Systems Engineering trunge@wisc.edu
Chris Rutland Professor, Mechanical Engineering rutland@engr.wisc.edu
Bulent Sarlioglu Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering bulent@engr.wisc.edu
Trey Sato Associate Scientist, Wisconsin Energy Institute tksato@glbrc.wisc.edu
Dietram Scheufele Professor, Life Sciences Communication scheufele@wisc.edu
Jordan Schmidt Assistant Professor, Chemistry schmidt@chem.wisc.edu
Richard Shaten Faculty Associate, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies rjshaten@facstaff.wisc.edu
Timothy Shedd Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering shedd@engr.wisc.edu
Steven Slater Scientific Programs Manager, GLBRC scslater@glbrc.wisc.edu
Carl Sovinec Professor, Engineering Physics csovinec@cae.wisc.edu
Kumar Sridharan Distinguished Research Professor, Engineering Physics kumar@engr.wisc.edu
Shannon Stahl Professor, Chemistry stahl@chem.wisc.edu
James Steele Professor, Food Science jsteele@facstaff.wisc.edu
Garret Suen Assistant Professor, Bacteriology gsuen@wisc.edu
Stephanie Tai Assistant Professor, Wisconsin School of Law tai2@wisc.edu
James (Jim) Tinjum Associate Professor, Engineering Professional Development tinjum@epd.engr.wisc.edu
Mario Trujillo Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering mtrujillo@wisc.edu
Giri Venkataramanan Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering giri@engr.wisc.edu
Patrick Walsh Professor Emeritus, Biological Systems Engineering pwwalsh@wisc.edu
Xudong Wang Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering xudong@engr.wisc.edu
David Weimer Professor, La Follette School of Public Affairs weimer@lafollette.wisc.edu
Paul Wilson Professor, Engineering Physics wilsonp@engr.wisc.edu
John Wright Andreas C. Albrecht Professor, Chemistry wright@chem.wisc.edu
Chin Wu Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering chinwu@engr.wisc.edu
Martin Zanni Meioche-Bascom Professor, Chemistry zanni@chem.wisc.edu
Yaoping Zhang Senior Scientist, Wisconsin Energy Institute yzhang@glbrc.wisc.edu

Pages