University of Wisconsin-Madison Crest
Wisconsin Energy Institute

Energy Experts

From biofuels to batteries, UW-Madison has a wealth of expertise in energy. This resource connects you to UW-Madison faculty investigating cross-cutting issues in all areas of energy.

For specific media requests, please contact Mary Blanchard.

This directory is intended to serve as a central resource of energy experts throughout the University of Wisconsin-Madison, regardless of college or departmental affiliation. If you are a UW-Madison faculty member working in energy and would like to be added to this list, please email communications@wei.wisc.edu so that we can include you during our next round of updates.

Namesort descending Institutional Title Email
Alan Carroll Professor Geology and Geophysics carroll@geology.wisc.edu
Ananth Krishnamurthy Associate Professor of Industrial & Systems Engineering ananth@engr.wisc.edu
Ankur Desai Assistant Professor of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences desai@aos.wisc.edu
Audrey Gasch Assistant Professor agasch@wisc.edu
Bernard Lesieutre
Brad Barham Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics barham@mailplus.wisc.edu
Brian Fox Marvin J. Johnson Professor in Fermentation Biochemistry bgfox@biochem.wisc.edu
Brian Pfleger Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Bruce Beihoff
Bruce Kieffer Faculty Associate/Program Director of Engineering Professional Development bkieffer@wisc.edu
Bulent Sarlioglu Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering bulent@engr.wisc.edu
Cameron Currie Associate Professor of Bacteriology currie@bact.wisc.edu
Carl Sovinec Associate Professor of Engineering Physics sovinec@engr.wisc.edu
Carol Barford Assistant Scientist at the Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment clbarford@wisc.edu
Carol Menassa MA Mortenson Assistant Professor in Construction Engineering and Management, Civil and Environmental Engineering menassa@wisc.edu
Cary Forest Associate Professor of Physics cbforest@facstaff.wisc.edu
Chin Wu Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering chinwu@engr.wisc.edu
Chris DeMarco Grainger Professor of Power Engineering demarco@engr.wisc.edu
Chris Hegna Professor of Engineering Physics hegna@engr.wisc.edu
Chris Kucharik Associate Professor of Agronomy and Environmental Studies kucharik@wisc.edu
Chris Rutland Professor of Mechanical Engineering rutland@engr.wisc.edu
Chris Todd Hittinger Assistant Professor of Genetics
Christos Maravelias Associate Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering christos@engr.wisc.edu
Claudio Canizares
Claudio Gratton Associate Professor of Entomology cgratton@wisc.edu
Craig Benson Wisconsin Distinguished Professor of Geological Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering benson@engr.wisc.edu
Dan Anderson Professor Emeritus of Wisconsin School of Business danderson@bus.wisc.edu
Dan Klingenberg Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering klingen@engr.wisc.edu
Dan Noguera Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering noguera@engr.wisc.edu
Dane Morgan Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering ddmorgan@wisc.edu
Dante Fratta Associate Professor of Geological Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering fratta@wisc.edu
Dave Foster Phil and Jean Myers Professor of Mechanical Engineering foster@engr.wisc.edu
Dave Keating Associate Scientist dkeating@glbrc.wisc.edu
David Benton Informatics and Information Technology Director dbenton@glbrc.wisc.edu
David Drake Extension Wildlife Specialist, Associate Professor of Forest and Wildlife Ecology ddrake2@wisc.edu
David Rothamer rothamer@engr.wisc.edu
David Weimer Professor of the La Follette School of Public Affairs weimer@lafollette.wisc.edu
Dietram Scheufele
Dominique Brossard Professor, Life Sciences Communication dbrossard@wisc.edu
Doug Reinemann Professor of Biological Systems Engineering djreinem@wisc.edu
Douglas Reindl Professor dreindl@wisc.edu
Edward Friedman Professor of Political Science friedman@polisci.wisc.edu
Francesco Volpe Assistant Professor of Engineering Physics fvolpe@wisc.edu
Franklin Miller Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Garret Suen Assistant Professor of Bacteriology
Gary Radloff Director, Midwest energy policy analysis, Wisconsin Energy Institute gradloff@energy.wisc.edu
George Huber Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering huber@engr.wisc.edu
Gerald Kulcinski Associate Dean for Research Grainger Professor of Nuclear Engineering Director, Fusion Technology Institute kulcinsk@engr.wisc.edu
Giri Venkataramanan Assoicate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering giri@engr.wisc.edu
Greg Nellis Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering gfnellis@engr.wisc.edu
Gregory Moses Professor of Engineering Physics moses@engr.wisc.edu
Gregory Nemet Assistant Professor of the La Follette School of Public Affairs nemet@wisc.edu
Heidi Kaeppler Associate Professor of Agronomy hfkaeppl@wisc.edu
Holly Gibbs Assistant Professor of Geography and Environmental Studies, Nelson Institute Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE)
Hongrui Jiang Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering hongrui@engr.wisc.edu
Ian Dobson Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering dobson@engr.wisc.edu
Jaal Ghandhi Professor of Mechanical Engineering ghandhi@engr.wisc.edu
Jack Huddleston Professor of Urban and Regional Planning jrhuddle@wisc.edu
James (Jim) Tinjum Assistant Professor of Engineering Professional Development tinjum@epd.engr.wisc.edu
James Blanchard Professor of Industrial & Systems Engineering blanchard@engr.wisc.edu
James Dumesic UW-Madison's Steenbock and Michel Boudart Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering dumesic@engr.wisc.edu
James LaGro Professor of Urban and Regional Planning jalagro@wisc.edu
James Schneider Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering jamess@cae.wisc.edu
James Steele Professor jsteele@facstaff.wisc.edu
Jean Bahr Professor of Geology and Geophysics jmbahr@geology.wisc.edu
Jean-Michel Ane Assistant Professor of Agronomy jane@wisc.edu
Jennifer Reed Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering reed@engr.wisc.edu
Jeremi Suri Professor of History suri@wisc.edu
Jim Rawlings Professor rawlings@engr.wisc.edu
Joel Rogers Professor of Wisconsin Strategy jerogers@wisc.edu, mbright@cows.org
John Pfotenhauer Professor pfot@engr.wisc.edu
John Booske Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering booske@engr.wisc.edu
John Greenler Education and Outreach Director, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center jgreenler@glbrc.wisc.edu
John Markley Professor of Biochemistry markley@nmrfam.wisc.edu
John Mitchell Elmer R. and Janet A. Kaiser Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering mitchell@engr.wisc.edu
John Nelson Adjunct Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering jsnelson4@wisc.edu
John Ralph Professor of Biochemistry jralph@wisc.edu
John Wright Andreas C. Albrecht Professor of Chemistry wright@chem.wisc.edu
Jordan Schmidt Assistant Professor of Chemistry schmidt@chem.wisc.edu
Joshua Coon Associate Professor jcoon@chem.wisc.edu
Joy Altwies Associate Faculty Associate/Program Director of Engineering Professional Development altwies@epd.engr.wisc.edu
Karsten Heeger Professor of Physics heeger@wisc.edu
Katherine McMahon Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering tmcmahon@engr.wisc.edu
Kenneth Potter Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering kwpotter@wisc.edu
Kenneth Ragland Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering ragland@engr.wisc.edu
Kumar Sridharan Distinguished Research Professor of Engineering Physics kumar@engr.wisc.edu
Linda Graham Professor of Botany lkgraham@wisc.edu
Luke Mawst Professor mawst@engr.wisc.edu
Mahesh Mahanthappa Assistant Professor of Chemistry mahesh@chem.wisc.edu
Manos Mavrikakis Paul A. Elfers Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering manos@engr.wisc.edu
Marc A. Anderson Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering nanopor@facstaff.wisc.edu
Mario Trujillo Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Marisa Otegui Assistant Professor otegui@wisc.edu
Mark Craven Professor craven@biostat.wisc.edu
Mark Finster Associate Professor of the Wisconsin School of Business mfinster@bus.wisc.edu
Mark H. Anderson
Martin Zanni Meioche-Bascom Professor of Chemistry zanni@chem.wisc.edu
McSean (Mick) McGee Associate Research Specialist/Technician mmcgee2@wisc.edu
Michael Arnold Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering msarnold@wisc.edu
Michael Casler Professor mdcasler@wisc.edu

Pages