University of Wisconsin-Madison Crest
Wisconsin Energy Institute

Energy Experts

From biofuels to batteries, UW-Madison has a wealth of expertise in energy. This resource connects you to UW-Madison faculty investigating cross-cutting issues in all areas of energy.

For specific media requests, please contact Mary Blanchard.

This directory is intended to serve as a central resource of energy experts throughout the University of Wisconsin-Madison, regardless of college or departmental affiliation. If you are a UW-Madison faculty member working in energy and would like to be added to this list, please email communications@wei.wisc.edu so that we can include you during our next round of updates.

Name Institutional Titlesort ascending Email
Rolf Reitz Wisconsin Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Craig Benson Wisconsin Distinguished Professor of Geological Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering benson@engr.wisc.edu
Michael Corradini Wisconsin Distinguished Professor - Engineering Physics; University of Wisconsin-Madison corradini@engr.wisc.edu
James Dumesic UW-Madison's Steenbock and Michel Boudart Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering dumesic@engr.wisc.edu
Yaoping Zhang Senior Scientist yzhang@glbrc.wisc.edu
Tom Eggert Senior Lecturer of the Wisconsin School of Business teggert@bus.wisc.edu
Steven Slater Scientific Programs Manager, GLBRC scslater@glbrc.wisc.edu
Nate Altfeather Program Director for Engineering Professional Development nqaltfea@wisc.edu
Dominique Brossard Professor, Life Sciences Communication dbrossard@wisc.edu
Joel Rogers Professor of Wisconsin Strategy jerogers@wisc.edu, mbright@cows.org
Jack Huddleston Professor of Urban and Regional Planning jrhuddle@wisc.edu
James LaGro Professor of Urban and Regional Planning jalagro@wisc.edu
Teresa Adams Professor of Transportation Engineering and City Planning in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering adams@engr.wisc.edu
David Weimer Professor of the La Follette School of Public Affairs weimer@lafollette.wisc.edu
Edward Friedman Professor of Political Science friedman@polisci.wisc.edu
Karsten Heeger Professor of Physics heeger@wisc.edu
Chris Rutland Professor of Mechanical Engineering rutland@engr.wisc.edu
Jaal Ghandhi Professor of Mechanical Engineering ghandhi@engr.wisc.edu
Vicki Bier Professor of Industrial & Systems Engineering bier@ie.engr.wisc.edu
James Blanchard Professor of Industrial & Systems Engineering blanchard@engr.wisc.edu
Jeremi Suri Professor of History suri@wisc.edu
Jean Bahr Professor of Geology and Geophysics jmbahr@geology.wisc.edu
Richard Lindroth Professor of Entomology lindroth@wisc.edu
Chris Hegna Professor of Engineering Physics hegna@engr.wisc.edu
Gregory Moses Professor of Engineering Physics moses@engr.wisc.edu
Hongrui Jiang Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering hongrui@engr.wisc.edu
Ian Dobson Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering dobson@engr.wisc.edu
Marc A. Anderson Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering nanopor@facstaff.wisc.edu
Dan Noguera Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering noguera@engr.wisc.edu
Kenneth Potter Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering kwpotter@wisc.edu
Michael Oliva Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering oliva@engr.wisc.edu
Chin Wu Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering chinwu@engr.wisc.edu
Robert Hamers Professor of Chemistry rjhamers@wisc.edu
Dan Klingenberg Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering klingen@engr.wisc.edu
Thomas Kuech Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering kuech@engr.wisc.edu
George Huber Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering huber@engr.wisc.edu
Linda Graham Professor of Botany lkgraham@wisc.edu
Doug Reinemann Professor of Biological Systems Engineering djreinem@wisc.edu
Rob Anex Professor of Biological Systems Engineering anex@wisc.edu
Robert Landick Professor of Biochemistry landick@bact.wisc.edu
John Markley Professor of Biochemistry markley@nmrfam.wisc.edu
John Ralph Professor of Biochemistry jralph@wisc.edu
Ronald Raines Professor of Biochemistry rtraines@wisc.edu
Thomas Jeffries Professor of Bacteriology twjeffri@wisc.edu
Shawn Kaeppler Professor of Agronomy smkaeppl@facstaff.wisc.edu
Brad Barham Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics barham@mailplus.wisc.edu
R. William (Bill) Provencher Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics rwproven@wisc.edu
Steven Deller Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics deller@aae.wisc.edu
Alan Carroll Professor Geology and Geophysics carroll@geology.wisc.edu
Dan Anderson Professor Emeritus of Wisconsin School of Business danderson@bus.wisc.edu
Kenneth Ragland Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering ragland@engr.wisc.edu
Patricia Kiley Professor and Chair, Biomolecular Chemistry, UW-Madison pjkiley@wisc.edu
James Steele Professor jsteele@facstaff.wisc.edu
Michael Casler Professor mdcasler@wisc.edu
Mark Craven Professor craven@biostat.wisc.edu
Richard Amasino Professor amasino@biochem.wisc.edu
Sebastian Bednarek Professor sybednar@wisc.edu
John Pfotenhauer Professor pfot@engr.wisc.edu
Jim Rawlings Professor rawlings@engr.wisc.edu
Luke Mawst Professor mawst@engr.wisc.edu
Sue Babcock Professor babcock@engr.wisc.edu
Douglas Reindl Professor dreindl@wisc.edu
Michael Ferris Professor ferris@cs.wisc.edu
Shannon Stahl Professor stahl@chem.wisc.edu
Dave Foster Phil and Jean Myers Professor of Mechanical Engineering foster@engr.wisc.edu
Manos Mavrikakis Paul A. Elfers Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering manos@engr.wisc.edu
Sanford Klein Ouweneel-Bascom Professor of Mechanical Engineering klein@engr.wisc.edu
William Beckman Ouweneel-Bascom Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering beckman@engr.wisc.edu
Martin Zanni Meioche-Bascom Professor of Chemistry zanni@chem.wisc.edu
Brian Fox Marvin J. Johnson Professor in Fermentation Biochemistry bgfox@biochem.wisc.edu
Carol Menassa MA Mortenson Assistant Professor in Construction Engineering and Management, Civil and Environmental Engineering menassa@wisc.edu
David Benton Informatics and Information Technology Director dbenton@glbrc.wisc.edu
Chris DeMarco Grainger Professor of Power Engineering demarco@engr.wisc.edu
Tom Jahns Grainger Professor of Power Electronics and Electrical Machines; Professor of Computer and Electrical Engineering jahns@engr.wisc.edu
Peter Carstensen George C. Young-Bascom Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School pccarste@facstaff.wisc.edu
Bruce Kieffer Faculty Associate/Program Director of Engineering Professional Development bkieffer@wisc.edu
Richard Shaten Faculty Associate for the Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies rjshaten@facstaff.wisc.edu
David Drake Extension Wildlife Specialist, Associate Professor of Forest and Wildlife Ecology ddrake2@wisc.edu
Robert Lasseter Emeritus Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering lasseter@engr.wisc.edu
John Mitchell Elmer R. and Janet A. Kaiser Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering mitchell@engr.wisc.edu
John Greenler Education and Outreach Director, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center jgreenler@glbrc.wisc.edu
John Booske Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering booske@engr.wisc.edu
Kumar Sridharan Distinguished Research Professor of Engineering Physics kumar@engr.wisc.edu
Gary Radloff Director, Midwest energy policy analysis, Wisconsin Energy Institute gradloff@energy.wisc.edu
Tim Donohue Director of the GLBRC, Professor of Bacteriology tdonohue@bact.wisc.edu
Robert Lorenz Consolidated Papers Professor of Controls Engineering, Mechanical Engineering lorenz@engr.wisc.edu
Giri Venkataramanan Assoicate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering giri@engr.wisc.edu
Dave Keating Associate Scientist dkeating@glbrc.wisc.edu
Trey Sato Associate Scientist tksato@glbrc.wisc.edu
Paul Meier Associate Scientist pmeier@wisc.edu
McSean (Mick) McGee Associate Research Specialist/Technician mmcgee2@wisc.edu
Mark Finster Associate Professor of the Wisconsin School of Business mfinster@bus.wisc.edu
Cary Forest Associate Professor of Physics cbforest@facstaff.wisc.edu
Greg Nellis Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering gfnellis@engr.wisc.edu
Timothy Shedd Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering shedd@engr.wisc.edu
Ananth Krishnamurthy Associate Professor of Industrial & Systems Engineering ananth@engr.wisc.edu
Dante Fratta Associate Professor of Geological Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering fratta@wisc.edu
Claudio Gratton Associate Professor of Entomology cgratton@wisc.edu
Carl Sovinec Associate Professor of Engineering Physics sovinec@engr.wisc.edu
Paul Wilson Associate Professor of Engineering Physics wilsonp@engr.wisc.edu

Pages