University of Wisconsin-Madison Crest
Wisconsin Energy Institute

Energy Experts

From biofuels to batteries, UW-Madison has a wealth of expertise in energy. This resource connects you to UW-Madison faculty investigating cross-cutting issues in all areas of energy.

For specific media requests, please contact Mary Blanchard.

This directory is intended to serve as a central resource of energy experts throughout the University of Wisconsin-Madison, regardless of college or departmental affiliation. If you are a UW-Madison faculty member working in energy and would like to be added to this list, please email communications@wei.wisc.edu so that we can include you during our next round of updates.

Name Institutional Title Emailsort descending
Mark Finster Associate Professor of the Wisconsin School of Business mfinster@bus.wisc.edu
John Mitchell Elmer R. and Janet A. Kaiser Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering mitchell@engr.wisc.edu
McSean (Mick) McGee Associate Research Specialist/Technician mmcgee2@wisc.edu
Gregory Moses Professor of Engineering Physics moses@engr.wisc.edu
Michael Arnold Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering msarnold@wisc.edu
Marc A. Anderson Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering nanopor@facstaff.wisc.edu
Natalia DeLeon Assistant Professor of Agronomy ndeleongatti@wisc.edu
Gregory Nemet Assistant Professor of the La Follette School of Public Affairs nemet@wisc.edu
Dan Noguera Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering noguera@engr.wisc.edu
Nate Altfeather Program Director for Engineering Professional Development nqaltfea@wisc.edu
Michael Oliva Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering oliva@engr.wisc.edu
Marisa Otegui Assistant Professor otegui@wisc.edu
Peter Carstensen George C. Young-Bascom Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School pccarste@facstaff.wisc.edu
John Pfotenhauer Professor pfot@engr.wisc.edu
Patricia Kiley Professor and Chair, Biomolecular Chemistry, UW-Madison pjkiley@wisc.edu
Paul Meier Associate Scientist pmeier@wisc.edu
Patrick Walsch Associate Professor of Biological Systems Engineering pwwalsh@wisc.edu
Kenneth Ragland Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering ragland@engr.wisc.edu
Jim Rawlings Professor rawlings@engr.wisc.edu
Randy Jackson Associate Professor of Agronomy rdjackson@wisc.edu
Jennifer Reed Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering reed@engr.wisc.edu
Robert Hamers Professor of Chemistry rjhamers@wisc.edu
Richard Shaten Faculty Associate for the Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies rjshaten@facstaff.wisc.edu
David Rothamer rothamer@engr.wisc.edu
Ronald Raines Professor of Biochemistry rtraines@wisc.edu
Chris Rutland Professor of Mechanical Engineering rutland@engr.wisc.edu
R. William (Bill) Provencher Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics rwproven@wisc.edu
Nita Sahai Associate Profesor of Geology and Geophysics sahai@geology.wisc.edu
Jordan Schmidt Assistant Professor of Chemistry schmidt@chem.wisc.edu
Steven Slater Scientific Programs Manager, GLBRC scslater@glbrc.wisc.edu
Timothy Shedd Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering shedd@engr.wisc.edu
Shawn Kaeppler Professor of Agronomy smkaeppl@facstaff.wisc.edu
Carl Sovinec Associate Professor of Engineering Physics sovinec@engr.wisc.edu
Sara Patterson Associate Professor spatters@wisc.edu
Shannon Stahl Professor stahl@chem.wisc.edu
Jeremi Suri Professor of History suri@wisc.edu
Sebastian Bednarek Professor sybednar@wisc.edu
Tracey Holloway Assistant Professor for the Center of Sustainability and the Global Environment taholloway@wisc.edu
Stephanie Tai Assistant Professor for the University of Wisconsin Law School tai2@wisc.edu
Tim Donohue Director of the GLBRC, Professor of Bacteriology tdonohue@bact.wisc.edu
Tom Eggert Senior Lecturer of the Wisconsin School of Business teggert@bus.wisc.edu
Thatcher Root Associate Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering thatcher@engr.wisc.edu
James (Jim) Tinjum Assistant Professor of Engineering Professional Development tinjum@epd.engr.wisc.edu
Trey Sato Associate Scientist tksato@glbrc.wisc.edu
Katherine McMahon Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering tmcmahon@engr.wisc.edu
Troy Runge Assistant Professor of Biological Systems Engineering trunge@wbi.wisc.edu
Thomas Jeffries Professor of Bacteriology twjeffri@wisc.edu
David Weimer Professor of the La Follette School of Public Affairs weimer@lafollette.wisc.edu
Paul Wilson Associate Professor of Engineering Physics wilsonp@engr.wisc.edu
John Wright Andreas C. Albrecht Professor of Chemistry wright@chem.wisc.edu
Sheldon (Xiaodong) Du Assistant Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics xdu23@wisc.edu
Xuejun Pan Assistant Professor of Biological Systems Engineering xpan@wisc.edu
Xudong Wang Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering xudong@engr.wisc.edu
Yehui Han Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering yehui@engr.wisc.edu
Yaoping Zhang Senior Scientist yzhang@glbrc.wisc.edu
Martin Zanni Meioche-Bascom Professor of Chemistry zanni@chem.wisc.edu

Pages