University of Wisconsin-Madison Crest
Wisconsin Energy Institute

Energy Experts

From biofuels to batteries, UW-Madison has a wealth of expertise in energy. This resource connects you to UW-Madison faculty investigating cross-cutting issues in all areas of energy.

For specific media requests, please contact Mary Blanchard.

This directory is intended to serve as a central resource of energy experts throughout the University of Wisconsin-Madison, regardless of college or departmental affiliation. If you are a UW-Madison faculty member working in energy and would like to be added to this list, please email communications@wei.wisc.edu so that we can include you during our next round of updates.

Name Institutional Titlesort descending Email
John Nelson Adjunct Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering jsnelson4@wisc.edu
John Wright Andreas C. Albrecht Professor, Chemistry wright@chem.wisc.edu
Mitch Bradt Assistant Faculty Associate/Program Director, Engineering Professional Development bradt@wisc.edu
Holly Gibbs Assistant Professor of Geography and Environmental Studies, Nelson Institute Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE) hkgibbs@wisc.edu
Franklin Miller Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering fkmiller@wisc.edu
Sheldon (Xiaodong) Du Assistant Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics xdu23@wisc.edu
Garret Suen Assistant Professor, Bacteriology gsuen@wisc.edu
Troy Runge Assistant Professor, Biological Systems Engineering trunge@wisc.edu
Jordan Schmidt Assistant Professor, Chemistry schmidt@chem.wisc.edu
Yehui Han Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering yehui@engr.wisc.edu
Bulent Sarlioglu Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering bulent@engr.wisc.edu
Chris Todd Hittinger Assistant Professor, Genetics cthittinger@wisc.edu
Michael Arnold Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering msarnold@wisc.edu
Xudong Wang Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering xudong@engr.wisc.edu
Mario Trujillo Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering mtrujillo@wisc.edu
David Rothamer Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering rothamer@engr.wisc.edu
Stephanie Tai Assistant Professor, Wisconsin School of Law tai2@wisc.edu
Shishir Chundawat Assistant Scientist, Wisconsin Energy Institute chundawat@wisc.edu
Gerald Kulcinski Associate Dean for Research; Grainger Professor of Nuclear Engineering; Director, Fusion Technology Institute kulcinsk@engr.wisc.edu
Mary Blanchard Associate Director, Wisconsin Energy Institute mblanchard@energy.wisc.edu
Joy Altwies Associate Faculty Associate/Program Director, Engineering Professional Development altwies@epd.engr.wisc.edu
Dante Fratta Associate Professor of Geological Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering fratta@wisc.edu
Randy Jackson Associate Professor, Agronomy rdjackson@wisc.edu
Jean-Michel Ane Associate Professor, Agronomy jane@wisc.edu
Heidi Kaeppler Associate Professor, Agronomy hfkaeppl@wisc.edu
Natalia DeLeon Associate Professor, Agronomy ndeleongatti@wisc.edu
Chris Kucharik Associate Professor, Agronomy and Environmental Studies kucharik@wisc.edu
Ankur Desai Associate Professor, Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences desai@aos.wisc.edu
Xuejun Pan Associate Professor, Biological Systems Engineering xpan@wisc.edu
Tracey Holloway Associate Professor, Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment taholloway@wisc.edu
Brian Pfleger Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering pfleger@engr.wisc.edu
Jennifer Reed Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering reed@engr.wisc.edu
Christos Maravelias Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering christos@engr.wisc.edu
Mahesh Mahanthappa Associate Professor, Chemistry mahesh@chem.wisc.edu
Ive Hermans Associate Professor, Chemistry and Chemical and Biological Engineering hermans@chem.wisc.edu
Steven Loheide Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering loheide@wisc.edu
James (Jim) Tinjum Associate Professor, Engineering Professional Development tinjum@epd.engr.wisc.edu
Audrey Gasch Associate Professor, Genetics agasch@wisc.edu
Sara Patterson Associate Professor, Horticulture spatters@wisc.edu
Ananth Krishnamurthy Associate Professor, Industrial & Systems Engineering ananth@engr.wisc.edu
Gregory Nemet Associate Professor, La Follette School of Public Affairs gnemet@lafollette.wisc.edu
Dane Morgan Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering ddmorgan@wisc.edu
Timothy Shedd Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering shedd@engr.wisc.edu
Mark Finster Associate Professor, Wisconsin School of Business mfinster@bus.wisc.edu
Carol Barford Associate Scientist and Director, Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment clbarford@wisc.edu
Dave Keating Associate Scientist, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center dkeating@glbrc.wisc.edu
Trey Sato Associate Scientist, Wisconsin Energy Institute tksato@glbrc.wisc.edu
Robert Lorenz Consolidated Papers Professor of Controls Engineering, Mechanical Engineering lorenz@engr.wisc.edu
Tim Donohue Director, GLBRC, Professor, Bacteriology tdonohue@bact.wisc.edu
Gary Radloff Director, Midwest Energy Policy Analysis, Wisconsin Energy Institute gradloff@energy.wisc.edu
Kumar Sridharan Distinguished Research Professor, Engineering Physics kumar@engr.wisc.edu
John Booske Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering booske@engr.wisc.edu
John Greenler Education and Outreach Director, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center jgreenler@glbrc.wisc.edu
John Mitchell Elmer R. and Janet A. Kaiser Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering mitchell@engr.wisc.edu
Robert Lasseter Emeritus Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering lasseter@engr.wisc.edu
David Drake Extension Wildlife Specialist, Associate Professor, Forest and Wildlife Ecology ddrake2@wisc.edu
Richard Shaten Faculty Associate, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies rjshaten@facstaff.wisc.edu
Bruce Kieffer Faculty Associate/Program Director, Engineering Professional Development bkieffer@wisc.edu
Peter Carstensen George C. Young-Bascom Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School pccarste@wisc.edu
Tom Jahns Grainger Professor of Power Electronics and Electrical Machines; Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering jahns@engr.wisc.edu
Chris DeMarco Grainger Professor of Power Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering demarco@engr.wisc.edu
Jaal Ghandhi Grainger Professor of Sustainable Energy, Mechanical Engineering ghandhi@engr.wisc.edu
David Benton Informatics and Information Technology Director, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center dbenton@glbrc.wisc.edu
Brian Fox Marvin J. Johnson Professor in Fermentation, Biochemistry bgfox@biochem.wisc.edu
Martin Zanni Meioche-Bascom Professor, Chemistry zanni@chem.wisc.edu
William Beckman Ouweneel-Bascom Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering beckman@engr.wisc.edu
Sanford Klein Ouweneel-Bascom Professor, Mechanical Engineering klein@engr.wisc.edu
Manos Mavrikakis Paul A. Elfers Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering manos@engr.wisc.edu
Dave Foster Phil and Jean Myers Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering foster@engr.wisc.edu
Patricia Kiley Professor and Chair, Biomolecular Chemistry pjkiley@wisc.edu
Thomas Kuech Professor and Chair, Chemical and Biological Engineering kuech@engr.wisc.edu
James Blanchard Professor and Chair, Engineering Physics blanchard@engr.wisc.edu
Patrick Walsh Professor Emeritus, Biological Systems Engineering pwwalsh@wisc.edu
Kenneth Ragland Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering ragland@engr.wisc.edu
Dan Anderson Professor Emeritus, Wisconsin School of Business danderson@bus.wisc.edu
Jack Huddleston Professor Emertius, Urban and Regional Planning jrhuddle@wisc.edu
G. Philip Robertson Professor of Ecosystem Science robert30@msu.edu
Joel Rogers Professor, Administrative Law jerogers@wisc.edu, mbright@cows.org
Brad Barham Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics barham@mailplus.wisc.edu
R. William (Bill) Provencher Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics rwproven@wisc.edu
Steven Deller Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics scdeller@wisc.edu
Shawn Kaeppler Professor, Agronomy smkaeppl@facstaff.wisc.edu
Michael Casler Professor, Agronomy mdcasler@wisc.edu
Cameron Currie Professor, Bacteriology currie@bact.wisc.edu
Thomas Jeffries Professor, Bacteriology twjeffri@wisc.edu
Robert Landick Professor, Biochemistry landick@bact.wisc.edu
John Markley Professor, Biochemistry markley@nmrfam.wisc.edu
Ronald Raines Professor, Biochemistry rtraines@wisc.edu
Richard Amasino Professor, Biochemistry amasino@biochem.wisc.edu
Sebastian Bednarek Professor, Biochemistry sybednar@wisc.edu
John Ralph Professor, Biochemistry; Plants Leader, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center jralph@wisc.edu
Doug Reinemann Professor, Biological Systems Engineering djreinem@wisc.edu
Rob Anex Professor, Biological Systems Engineering anex@wisc.edu
Mark Craven Professor, Biostatistics and Medical Informatics craven@biostat.wisc.edu
Linda Graham Professor, Botany lkgraham@wisc.edu
Marisa Otegui Professor, Botany and Genetics otegui@wisc.edu
Dan Klingenberg Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering klingen@engr.wisc.edu
Jim Rawlings Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering rawlings@engr.wisc.edu
George Huber Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering huber@engr.wisc.edu
Thatcher Root Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering thatcher@engr.wisc.edu

Pages