Wisconsin Energy Institute

Energy Experts

From biofuels to batteries, UW-Madison has a wealth of expertise in energy. This resource connects you to UW-Madison faculty investigating cross-cutting issues in all areas of energy.

For specific media requests, please contact Mary Blanchard.

This directory is intended to serve as a central resource of energy experts throughout the University of Wisconsin-Madison, regardless of college or departmental affiliation. If you are a UW-Madison faculty member working in energy and would like to be added to this list, please email communications@wei.wisc.edu so that we can include you during our next round of updates.

Name Institutional Titlesort descending Email
John Nelson Adjunct Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering jsnelson4@wisc.edu
John Wright Andreas C. Albrecht Professor, Chemistry wright@chem.wisc.edu
Mitch Bradt Assistant Faculty Associate/Program Director, Engineering Professional Development bradt@wisc.edu
Jason Kawasaki Assistant Professor jkawasaki@wisc.edu
Daniel Ludois Assistant Professor ludois@wisc.edu
Holly Gibbs Assistant Professor of Geography and Environmental Studies, Nelson Institute Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE) hkgibbs@wisc.edu
Franklin Miller Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering fkmiller@wisc.edu
Sheldon (Xiaodong) Du Assistant Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics xdu23@wisc.edu
Garret Suen Assistant Professor, Bacteriology gsuen@wisc.edu
Troy Runge Assistant Professor, Biological Systems Engineering trunge@wisc.edu
Andrea Hicks Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering hicks5@wisc.edu
Vatsan Raman Assistant Professor, College of Agricultural & Life Sciences sraman4@wisc.edu
Yehui Han Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering yehui@engr.wisc.edu
Bulent Sarlioglu Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering sarlioglu@wisc.edu
Raluca Scarlat Assistant Professor, Engineering Physics raluca.scarlat@wisc.edu
Chris Todd Hittinger Assistant Professor, Genetics cthittinger@wisc.edu
Neil Stenhouse Assistant Professor, Life Sciences Communication stenhouse@wisc.edu
Michael Arnold Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering msarnold@wisc.edu
Xudong Wang Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering xudong.wang@wisc.edu
Mario Trujillo Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering mtrujillo@wisc.edu
Natalie Rudolph Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering nrudolph2@wisc.edu
Sage Kokjohn Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering kokjohn@wisc.edu
David Rothamer Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering rothamer@wisc.edu
Marianne Fairbanks Assistant Professor, School of Human Ecology mfairbanks@wisc.edu
Miriam Seifter Assistant Professor, Wisconsin School of Law miriam.seifter@wisc.edu
Stephanie Tai Assistant Professor, Wisconsin School of Law tai2@wisc.edu
Gerald Kulcinski Associate Dean for Research; Grainger Professor of Nuclear Engineering; Director, Fusion Technology Institute glkulcin@wisc.edu
Mary Blanchard Associate Director, Wisconsin Energy Institute mary.blanchard@wisc.edu
Joy Altwies Associate Faculty Associate/Program Director, Engineering Professional Development altwies@wisc.edu
Dante Fratta Associate Professor of Geological Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering fratta@wisc.edu
Natalia DeLeon Associate Professor, Agronomy ndeleongatti@wisc.edu
Randy Jackson Associate Professor, Agronomy rdjackson@wisc.edu
Heidi Kaeppler Associate Professor, Agronomy hfkaeppl@wisc.edu
Chris Kucharik Associate Professor, Agronomy and Environmental Studies kucharik@wisc.edu
Ankur Desai Associate Professor, Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences desai@aos.wisc.edu
Xuejun Pan Associate Professor, Biological Systems Engineering xpan@wisc.edu
Tracey Holloway Associate Professor, Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment taholloway@wisc.edu
Brian Pfleger Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering brian.pfleger@wisc.edu
Jennifer Reed Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering jennifer.reed@wisc.edu
Christos Maravelias Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering christos.maravelias@wisc.edu
Jordan Schmidt Associate Professor, Chemistry schmidt@chem.wisc.edu
Ive Hermans Associate Professor, Chemistry and Chemical and Biological Engineering hermans@chem.wisc.edu
Steven Loheide Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering loheide@wisc.edu
James (Jim) Tinjum Associate Professor, Engineering Professional Development jmtinjum@wisc.edu
Audrey Gasch Associate Professor, Genetics agasch@wisc.edu
Ananth Krishnamurthy Associate Professor, Industrial & Systems Engineering ananth.krishnamurthy@wisc.edu
Gregory Nemet Associate Professor, La Follette School of Public Affairs nemet@wisc.edu
Dane Morgan Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering ddmorgan@wisc.edu
Timothy Shedd Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering tashedd@wisc.edu
Mark Finster Associate Professor, Wisconsin School of Business mark.finster@wisc.edu
Carol Barford Associate Scientist and Director, Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment carol.barford@wisc.edu
Trey Sato Associate Scientist, Wisconsin Energy Institute tksato@glbrc.wisc.edu
Robert Lorenz Consolidated Papers Professor of Controls Engineering, Mechanical Engineering rdlorenz@wisc.edu
Tim Donohue Director, GLBRC, Professor, Bacteriology tdonohue@bact.wisc.edu
Gary Radloff Director, Midwest Energy Policy Analysis, Wisconsin Energy Institute gary.radloff@wisc.edu
Kumar Sridharan Distinguished Research Professor, Engineering Physics kumar.sridharan@wisc.edu
John Booske Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering jhbooske@wisc.edu
John Greenler Education and Outreach Director, WEI, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center john.greenler@wisc.edu
Robert Lasseter Emeritus Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering rhlasseter@wisc.edu
Arganthael Berson Faculty Associate, Mechanical Engineering berson2@wisc.edu
Richard Shaten Faculty Associate, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies rjshaten@wisc.edu
Peter Carstensen George C. Young-Bascom Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School peter.carstensen@wisc.edu
Tom Jahns Grainger Professor of Power Electronics and Electrical Machines; Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering jahns@engr.wisc.edu
Chris DeMarco Grainger Professor of Power Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering cdemarco@wisc.edu
Jaal Ghandhi Grainger Professor of Sustainable Energy, Mechanical Engineering jaal.ghandhi@wisc.edu
David Benton Informatics and Information Technology Director, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center dbenton@glbrc.wisc.edu
Brian Fox Marvin J. Johnson Professor in Fermentation, Biochemistry bgfox@biochem.wisc.edu
Martin Zanni Meioche-Bascom Professor, Chemistry zanni@chem.wisc.edu
William Beckman Ouweneel-Bascom Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering beckman@engr.wisc.edu
Jim Rawlings Paul A. Elfers Professor and W. Harmon Ray Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering james.rawlings@wisc.edu
Manos Mavrikakis Paul A. Elfers Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering emavrikakis@wisc.edu
Dave Foster Phil and Jean Myers Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering defoster@wisc.edu
Ian Coxhead Professor and Chair, Agricultural and Applied Economics ian.coxhead@wisc.edu
Patricia Kiley Professor and Chair, Biomolecular Chemistry pjkiley@wisc.edu
Thomas Kuech Professor and Chair, Chemical and Biological Engineering tfkuech@wisc.edu
James Blanchard Professor and Chair, Engineering Physics blanchard@engr.wisc.edu
Thomas Jeffries Professor Emeritus, Bacteriology twjeffri@wisc.edu
Patrick Walsh Professor Emeritus, Biological Systems Engineering pwwalsh@wisc.edu
Marc A. Anderson Professor Emeritus, Civil and Environmental Engineering nanopor@wisc.edu
Edward Friedman Professor Emeritus, Political Science efriedm1@wisc.edu
Dan Anderson Professor Emeritus, Wisconsin School of Business danderson@bus.wisc.edu
Jack Huddleston Professor Emertius, Urban and Regional Planning jrhuddle@wisc.edu
Joel Rogers Professor, Administrative Law jrogers@ssc.wisc.edu
Steven Deller Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics scdeller@wisc.edu
R. William (Bill) Provencher Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics bill.provencher@wisc.edu
Brad Barham Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics bradford.barham@wisc.edu
Shawn Kaeppler Professor, Agronomy smkaeppl@wisc.edu
Michael Casler Professor, Agronomy mdcasler@wisc.edu
Cameron Currie Professor, Bacteriology currie@bact.wisc.edu
Jean-Michel Ane Professor, Bacteriology and Agronomy jeanmichel.ane@wisc.edu
Ronald Raines Professor, Biochemistry rtraines@wisc.edu
Robert Landick Professor, Biochemistry landick@bact.wisc.edu
Richard Amasino Professor, Biochemistry amasino@biochem.wisc.edu
Sebastian Bednarek Professor, Biochemistry sybednar@wisc.edu
John Markley Professor, Biochemistry markley@biochem.wisc.edu
John Ralph Professor, Biochemistry; Plants Leader, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center jralph@wisc.edu
Rob Anex Professor, Biological Systems Engineering anex@wisc.edu
Doug Reinemann Professor, Biological Systems Engineering doug.reinemann@wisc.edu
Linda Graham Professor, Botany lkgraham@wisc.edu
Marisa Otegui Professor, Botany and Genetics otegui@wisc.edu

Pages