University of Wisconsin-Madison Crest
Wisconsin Energy Institute

Energy Experts

From biofuels to batteries, UW-Madison has a wealth of expertise in energy. This resource connects you to UW-Madison faculty investigating cross-cutting issues in all areas of energy.

For specific media requests, please contact Mary Blanchard.

This directory is intended to serve as a central resource of energy experts throughout the University of Wisconsin-Madison, regardless of college or departmental affiliation. If you are a UW-Madison faculty member working in energy and would like to be added to this list, please email communications@wei.wisc.edu so that we can include you during our next round of updates.

Name Institutional Titlesort descending Email
Claudio Canizares
Bruce Beihoff
Mark H. Anderson
Dietram Scheufele
David Rothamer rothamer@engr.wisc.edu
Bernard Lesieutre
John Nelson Adjunct Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering jsnelson4@wisc.edu
John Wright Andreas C. Albrecht Professor of Chemistry wright@chem.wisc.edu
Mitch Bradt Assistant Faculty Associate/Program Director for Engineering Professional Development
Audrey Gasch Assistant Professor agasch@wisc.edu
Marisa Otegui Assistant Professor otegui@wisc.edu
Tracey Holloway Assistant Professor for the Center of Sustainability and the Global Environment taholloway@wisc.edu
Stephanie Tai Assistant Professor for the University of Wisconsin Law School tai2@wisc.edu
Sheldon (Xiaodong) Du Assistant Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics xdu23@wisc.edu
Jean-Michel Ane Assistant Professor of Agronomy jane@wisc.edu
Natalia DeLeon Assistant Professor of Agronomy ndeleongatti@wisc.edu
Ankur Desai Assistant Professor of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences desai@aos.wisc.edu
Garret Suen Assistant Professor of Bacteriology
Xuejun Pan Assistant Professor of Biological Systems Engineering xpan@wisc.edu
Troy Runge Assistant Professor of Biological Systems Engineering trunge@wbi.wisc.edu
Brian Pfleger Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Jennifer Reed Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering reed@engr.wisc.edu
Jordan Schmidt Assistant Professor of Chemistry schmidt@chem.wisc.edu
Mahesh Mahanthappa Assistant Professor of Chemistry mahesh@chem.wisc.edu
James Schneider Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering jamess@cae.wisc.edu
Steven Loheide Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering loheide@wisc.edu
Bulent Sarlioglu Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering bulent@engr.wisc.edu
Yehui Han Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering yehui@engr.wisc.edu
Francesco Volpe Assistant Professor of Engineering Physics fvolpe@wisc.edu
James (Jim) Tinjum Assistant Professor of Engineering Professional Development tinjum@epd.engr.wisc.edu
Chris Todd Hittinger Assistant Professor of Genetics
Holly Gibbs Assistant Professor of Geography and Environmental Studies, Nelson Institute Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE)
Michael Arnold Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering msarnold@wisc.edu
Dane Morgan Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering ddmorgan@wisc.edu
Xudong Wang Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering xudong@engr.wisc.edu
Paul Evans Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering evans@engr.wisc.edu
Franklin Miller Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Mario Trujillo Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Todd Allen Assistant Professor of Nuclear Engineering allen@engr.wisc.edu
Gregory Nemet Assistant Professor of the La Follette School of Public Affairs nemet@wisc.edu
Carol Barford Assistant Scientist at the Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment clbarford@wisc.edu
Gerald Kulcinski Associate Dean for Research Grainger Professor of Nuclear Engineering Director, Fusion Technology Institute kulcinsk@engr.wisc.edu
Joy Altwies Associate Faculty Associate/Program Director of Engineering Professional Development altwies@epd.engr.wisc.edu
Nita Sahai Associate Profesor of Geology and Geophysics sahai@geology.wisc.edu
Joshua Coon Associate Professor jcoon@chem.wisc.edu
Sara Patterson Associate Professor spatters@wisc.edu
Randy Jackson Associate Professor of Agronomy rdjackson@wisc.edu
Heidi Kaeppler Associate Professor of Agronomy hfkaeppl@wisc.edu
Chris Kucharik Associate Professor of Agronomy and Environmental Studies kucharik@wisc.edu
Cameron Currie Associate Professor of Bacteriology currie@bact.wisc.edu
Patrick Walsch Associate Professor of Biological Systems Engineering pwwalsh@wisc.edu
Christos Maravelias Associate Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering christos@engr.wisc.edu
Thatcher Root Associate Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering thatcher@engr.wisc.edu
Song Jin Associate Professor of Chemistry jin@chem.wisc.edu
Katherine McMahon Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering tmcmahon@engr.wisc.edu
Zhenqiang Ma Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering mazq@engr.wisc.edu
Carl Sovinec Associate Professor of Engineering Physics sovinec@engr.wisc.edu
Paul Wilson Associate Professor of Engineering Physics wilsonp@engr.wisc.edu
Claudio Gratton Associate Professor of Entomology cgratton@wisc.edu
Dante Fratta Associate Professor of Geological Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering fratta@wisc.edu
Ananth Krishnamurthy Associate Professor of Industrial & Systems Engineering ananth@engr.wisc.edu
Greg Nellis Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering gfnellis@engr.wisc.edu
Timothy Shedd Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering shedd@engr.wisc.edu
Cary Forest Associate Professor of Physics cbforest@facstaff.wisc.edu
Mark Finster Associate Professor of the Wisconsin School of Business mfinster@bus.wisc.edu
McSean (Mick) McGee Associate Research Specialist/Technician mmcgee2@wisc.edu
Dave Keating Associate Scientist dkeating@glbrc.wisc.edu
Trey Sato Associate Scientist tksato@glbrc.wisc.edu
Paul Meier Associate Scientist pmeier@wisc.edu
Giri Venkataramanan Assoicate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering giri@engr.wisc.edu
Robert Lorenz Consolidated Papers Professor of Controls Engineering, Mechanical Engineering lorenz@engr.wisc.edu
Tim Donohue Director of the GLBRC, Professor of Bacteriology tdonohue@bact.wisc.edu
Gary Radloff Director, Midwest energy policy analysis, Wisconsin Energy Institute gradloff@energy.wisc.edu
Kumar Sridharan Distinguished Research Professor of Engineering Physics kumar@engr.wisc.edu
John Booske Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering booske@engr.wisc.edu
John Greenler Education and Outreach Director, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center jgreenler@glbrc.wisc.edu
John Mitchell Elmer R. and Janet A. Kaiser Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering mitchell@engr.wisc.edu
Robert Lasseter Emeritus Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering lasseter@engr.wisc.edu
David Drake Extension Wildlife Specialist, Associate Professor of Forest and Wildlife Ecology ddrake2@wisc.edu
Richard Shaten Faculty Associate for the Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies rjshaten@facstaff.wisc.edu
Bruce Kieffer Faculty Associate/Program Director of Engineering Professional Development bkieffer@wisc.edu
Peter Carstensen George C. Young-Bascom Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School pccarste@facstaff.wisc.edu
Tom Jahns Grainger Professor of Power Electronics and Electrical Machines; Professor of Computer and Electrical Engineering jahns@engr.wisc.edu
Chris DeMarco Grainger Professor of Power Engineering demarco@engr.wisc.edu
David Benton Informatics and Information Technology Director dbenton@glbrc.wisc.edu
Carol Menassa MA Mortenson Assistant Professor in Construction Engineering and Management, Civil and Environmental Engineering menassa@wisc.edu
Brian Fox Marvin J. Johnson Professor in Fermentation Biochemistry bgfox@biochem.wisc.edu
Martin Zanni Meioche-Bascom Professor of Chemistry zanni@chem.wisc.edu
William Beckman Ouweneel-Bascom Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering beckman@engr.wisc.edu
Sanford Klein Ouweneel-Bascom Professor of Mechanical Engineering klein@engr.wisc.edu
Manos Mavrikakis Paul A. Elfers Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering manos@engr.wisc.edu
Dave Foster Phil and Jean Myers Professor of Mechanical Engineering foster@engr.wisc.edu
Michael Ferris Professor ferris@cs.wisc.edu
Shannon Stahl Professor stahl@chem.wisc.edu
James Steele Professor jsteele@facstaff.wisc.edu
Michael Casler Professor mdcasler@wisc.edu
Mark Craven Professor craven@biostat.wisc.edu
Richard Amasino Professor amasino@biochem.wisc.edu
Sebastian Bednarek Professor sybednar@wisc.edu
Douglas Reindl Professor dreindl@wisc.edu

Pages