Wisconsin Energy Institute

Energy Experts

From biofuels to batteries, UW-Madison has a wealth of expertise in energy. This resource connects you to UW-Madison faculty investigating cross-cutting issues in all areas of energy.

For specific media requests, please contact Mary Blanchard.

This directory is intended to serve as a central resource of energy experts throughout the University of Wisconsin-Madison, regardless of college or departmental affiliation. If you are a UW-Madison faculty member working in energy and would like to be added to this list, please email communications@wei.wisc.edu so that we can include you during our next round of updates.

Name Institutional Title Emailsort ascending
Martin Zanni Meioche-Bascom Professor, Chemistry zanni@chem.wisc.edu
Yehui Han Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering yehui@engr.wisc.edu
Yaoping Zhang Senior Scientist, Wisconsin Energy Institute yaoping.zhang@wisc.edu
Xudong Wang Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering xudong.wang@wisc.edu
Xuejun Pan Associate Professor, Biological Systems Engineering xpan@wisc.edu
Sheldon (Xiaodong) Du Assistant Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics xdu23@wisc.edu
John Wright Andreas C. Albrecht Professor, Chemistry wright@chem.wisc.edu
David Weimer Professor, La Follette School of Public Affairs weimer@lafollette.wisc.edu
William Banholzer Research Professor, Honorary Fellow Chemistry Department, Chemical and Biological Engineering wbanholzer@wisc.edu
Victor Zavala Richard H. Soit Assistant Professor victor.zavala@wisc.edu
Vicki Bier Professor, Industrial & Systems Engineering vicki.bier@wisc.edu
Thatcher Root Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering twroot@wisc.edu
Thomas Jeffries Professor Emeritus, Bacteriology twjeffri@wisc.edu
Troy Runge Assistant Professor, Biological Systems Engineering trunge@wisc.edu
Katherine McMahon Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering trina.mcmahon@wisc.edu
Todd Allen Professor, Engineering Physics todd.allen@wisc.edu
Tom Eggert Senior Lecturer, Wisconsin School of Business tleggert@wisc.edu
Trey Sato Associate Scientist, Wisconsin Energy Institute tksato@glbrc.wisc.edu
Thomas Kuech Professor and Chair, Chemical and Biological Engineering tfkuech@wisc.edu
Teresa Adams Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering teresa.adams@wisc.edu
Tim Donohue Director, GLBRC, Professor, Bacteriology tdonohue@bact.wisc.edu
Timothy Shedd Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering tashedd@wisc.edu
Stephanie Tai Assistant Professor, Wisconsin School of Law tai2@wisc.edu
Tracey Holloway Associate Professor, Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment taholloway@wisc.edu
Sebastian Bednarek Professor, Biochemistry sybednar@wisc.edu
Neil Stenhouse Assistant Professor, Life Sciences Communication stenhouse@wisc.edu
Shannon Stahl Professor, Chemistry stahl@chem.wisc.edu
Vatsan Raman Assistant Professor, College of Agricultural & Life Sciences sraman4@wisc.edu
Sara Patterson Professor, Horticulture spatters@wisc.edu
Shawn Kaeppler Professor, Agronomy smkaeppl@wisc.edu
Jordan Schmidt Associate Professor, Chemistry schmidt@chem.wisc.edu
Dietram Scheufele Professor, Life Sciences Communication scheufele@wisc.edu
Steven Deller Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics scdeller@wisc.edu
Bulent Sarlioglu Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering sarlioglu@wisc.edu
Ronald Raines Professor, Biochemistry rtraines@wisc.edu
David Rothamer Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering rothamer@wisc.edu
Richard Shaten Faculty Associate, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies rjshaten@wisc.edu
Robert Hamers Professor, Chemistry rjhamers@wisc.edu
Richard Lindroth Professor, Entomology richard.lindroth@wisc.edu
Robert Lasseter Emeritus Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering rhlasseter@wisc.edu
Rolf Reitz Wisconsin Distinguished Professor, Mechanical Engineering reitz@wisc.edu
Robert Lorenz Consolidated Papers Professor of Controls Engineering, Mechanical Engineering rdlorenz@wisc.edu
Randy Jackson Associate Professor, Agronomy rdjackson@wisc.edu
Raluca Scarlat Assistant Professor, Engineering Physics raluca.scarlat@wisc.edu
Patrick Walsh Professor Emeritus, Biological Systems Engineering pwwalsh@wisc.edu
Patricia Kiley Professor and Chair, Biomolecular Chemistry pjkiley@wisc.edu
Paul Evans Professor, Materials Science and Engineering pgevans@wisc.edu
John Pfotenhauer Professor, Mechanical Engineering pfot@engr.wisc.edu
Peter Carstensen George C. Young-Bascom Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School peter.carstensen@wisc.edu
Paul Wilson Professor, Engineering Physics paul.wilson@wisc.edu
Jonathan Patz Professor, Environmental Studies and Population Health Sciences patz@wisc.edu
Marisa Otegui Professor, Botany and Genetics otegui@wisc.edu
Lawrence "Gary" Oates Research Scientist oates@wisc.edu
Natalie Rudolph Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering nrudolph2@wisc.edu
Gregory Nemet Associate Professor, La Follette School of Public Affairs nemet@wisc.edu
Natalia DeLeon Associate Professor, Agronomy ndeleongatti@wisc.edu
Marc A. Anderson Professor Emeritus, Civil and Environmental Engineering nanopor@wisc.edu
Mario Trujillo Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering mtrujillo@wisc.edu
Michael Arnold Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering msarnold@wisc.edu
Miriam Seifter Assistant Professor, Wisconsin School of Law miriam.seifter@wisc.edu
Michael Oliva Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering mgoliva@wisc.edu
Marianne Fairbanks Assistant Professor, School of Human Ecology mfairbanks@wisc.edu
Michael Casler Professor, Agronomy mdcasler@wisc.edu
Zhenqiang Ma Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering mazq@engr.wisc.edu
Mary Blanchard Associate Director, Wisconsin Energy Institute mary.blanchard@wisc.edu
John Markley Professor, Biochemistry markley@biochem.wisc.edu
Mark Finster Associate Professor, Wisconsin School of Business mark.finster@wisc.edu
Mark H. Anderson Research Professor, Engineering Physics manderson@engr.wisc.edu
Daniel Ludois Assistant Professor ludois@wisc.edu
Steven Loheide Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering loheide@wisc.edu
Linda Graham Professor, Botany lkgraham@wisc.edu
Luke Mawst Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering ljmawst@wisc.edu
Bernard Lesieutre Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering lesieutre@engr.wisc.edu
Robert Landick Professor, Biochemistry landick@bact.wisc.edu
Kumar Sridharan Distinguished Research Professor, Engineering Physics kumar.sridharan@wisc.edu
Chris Kucharik Associate Professor, Agronomy and Environmental Studies kucharik@wisc.edu
Sage Kokjohn Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering kokjohn@wisc.edu
John Nelson Adjunct Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering jsnelson4@wisc.edu
Joel Rogers Professor, Administrative Law jrogers@ssc.wisc.edu
Jack Huddleston Professor Emertius, Urban and Regional Planning jrhuddle@wisc.edu
John Ralph Professor, Biochemistry; Plants Leader, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center jralph@wisc.edu
John Greenler Education and Outreach Director, WEI, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center john.greenler@wisc.edu
James (Jim) Tinjum Associate Professor, Engineering Professional Development jmtinjum@wisc.edu
Jean Bahr Professor, Geoscience jmbahr@geology.wisc.edu
James Steele Professor, Food Science jlsteele@wisc.edu
Jason Kawasaki Assistant Professor jkawasaki@wisc.edu
Song Jin Professor, Chemistry jin@chem.wisc.edu
John Booske Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering jhbooske@wisc.edu
Jennifer Reed Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering jennifer.reed@wisc.edu
Jean-Michel Ane Professor, Bacteriology and Agronomy jeanmichel.ane@wisc.edu
James Dumesic Steenbock and Michel Boudart Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering jdumesic@wisc.edu
Joshua Coon Professor, Chemistry and Biomolecular Chemistry jcoon@chem.wisc.edu
Jim Rawlings Paul A. Elfers Professor and W. Harmon Ray Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering james.rawlings@wisc.edu
James LaGro Professor, Urban and Regional Planning jalagro@wisc.edu
Tom Jahns Grainger Professor of Power Electronics and Electrical Machines; Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering jahns@engr.wisc.edu
Jaal Ghandhi Grainger Professor of Sustainable Energy, Mechanical Engineering jaal.ghandhi@wisc.edu
Ian Coxhead Professor and Chair, Agricultural and Applied Economics ian.coxhead@wisc.edu
Hongrui Jiang Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering hongrui@engr.wisc.edu
Holly Gibbs Assistant Professor of Geography and Environmental Studies, Nelson Institute Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE) hkgibbs@wisc.edu
Andrea Hicks Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering hicks5@wisc.edu

Pages