University of Wisconsin-Madison Crest
Wisconsin Energy Institute

Energy Experts

From biofuels to batteries, UW-Madison has a wealth of expertise in energy. This resource connects you to UW-Madison faculty investigating cross-cutting issues in all areas of energy.

For specific media requests, please contact Mary Blanchard.

This directory is intended to serve as a central resource of energy experts throughout the University of Wisconsin-Madison, regardless of college or departmental affiliation. If you are a UW-Madison faculty member working in energy and would like to be added to this list, please email communications@wei.wisc.edu so that we can include you during our next round of updates.

Name Institutional Title Emailsort ascending
Martin Zanni Meioche-Bascom Professor, Chemistry zanni@chem.wisc.edu
Yaoping Zhang Senior Scientist, Wisconsin Energy Institute yzhang@glbrc.wisc.edu
Yehui Han Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering yehui@engr.wisc.edu
Xudong Wang Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering xudong@engr.wisc.edu
Xuejun Pan Associate Professor, Biological Systems Engineering xpan@wisc.edu
Sheldon (Xiaodong) Du Assistant Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics xdu23@wisc.edu
John Wright Andreas C. Albrecht Professor, Chemistry wright@chem.wisc.edu
Paul Wilson Professor, Engineering Physics wilsonp@engr.wisc.edu
David Weimer Professor, La Follette School of Public Affairs weimer@lafollette.wisc.edu
Thomas Jeffries Professor, Bacteriology twjeffri@wisc.edu
Troy Runge Assistant Professor, Biological Systems Engineering trunge@wisc.edu
Katherine McMahon Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering tmcmahon@engr.wisc.edu
Trey Sato Associate Scientist, Wisconsin Energy Institute tksato@glbrc.wisc.edu
James (Jim) Tinjum Associate Professor, Engineering Professional Development tinjum@epd.engr.wisc.edu
Thatcher Root Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering thatcher@engr.wisc.edu
Tom Eggert Senior Lecturer, Wisconsin School of Business teggert@bus.wisc.edu
Tim Donohue Director, GLBRC, Professor, Bacteriology tdonohue@bact.wisc.edu
Stephanie Tai Assistant Professor, Wisconsin School of Law tai2@wisc.edu
Tracey Holloway Associate Professor, Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment taholloway@wisc.edu
Sebastian Bednarek Professor, Biochemistry sybednar@wisc.edu
Shannon Stahl Professor, Chemistry stahl@chem.wisc.edu
Sara Patterson Associate Professor, Horticulture spatters@wisc.edu
Shawn Kaeppler Professor, Agronomy smkaeppl@facstaff.wisc.edu
Timothy Shedd Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering shedd@engr.wisc.edu
Steven Slater Scientific Programs Manager, GLBRC scslater@glbrc.wisc.edu
Jordan Schmidt Assistant Professor, Chemistry schmidt@chem.wisc.edu
Dietram Scheufele Professor, Life Sciences Communication scheufele@wisc.edu
Steven Deller Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics scdeller@wisc.edu
R. William (Bill) Provencher Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics rwproven@wisc.edu
Chris Rutland Professor, Mechanical Engineering rutland@engr.wisc.edu
Ronald Raines Professor, Biochemistry rtraines@wisc.edu
David Rothamer Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering rothamer@engr.wisc.edu
G. Philip Robertson Professor of Ecosystem Science robert30@msu.edu
Richard Shaten Faculty Associate, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies rjshaten@facstaff.wisc.edu
Robert Hamers Professor, Chemistry rjhamers@wisc.edu
Rolf Reitz Wisconsin Distinguished Professor, Mechanical Engineering reitz@engr.wisc.edu
Jennifer Reed Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering reed@engr.wisc.edu
Randy Jackson Associate Professor, Agronomy rdjackson@wisc.edu
Jim Rawlings Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering rawlings@engr.wisc.edu
Kenneth Ragland Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering ragland@engr.wisc.edu
Patrick Walsh Professor Emeritus, Biological Systems Engineering pwwalsh@wisc.edu
Paul Meier Scientist, Wisconsin Energy Institute , GLBRC Associate Scientist pmeier@wisc.edu
Patricia Kiley Professor and Chair, Biomolecular Chemistry pjkiley@wisc.edu
John Pfotenhauer Professor, Mechanical Engineering pfot@engr.wisc.edu
Brian Pfleger Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering pfleger@engr.wisc.edu
Peter Carstensen George C. Young-Bascom Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School pccarste@wisc.edu
Marisa Otegui Professor, Botany and Genetics otegui@wisc.edu
Michael Oliva Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering oliva@engr.wisc.edu
Dan Noguera Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering noguera@engr.wisc.edu
Natalia DeLeon Associate Professor, Agronomy ndeleongatti@wisc.edu
Marc A. Anderson Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering nanopor@facstaff.wisc.edu
Mario Trujillo Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering mtrujillo@wisc.edu
Michael Arnold Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering msarnold@wisc.edu
Gregory Moses Professor, Engineering Physics moses@engr.wisc.edu
McSean (Mick) McGee Research Specialist, Wisconsin Energy Institute mmcgee2@wisc.edu
John Mitchell Elmer R. and Janet A. Kaiser Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering mitchell@engr.wisc.edu
Mark Finster Associate Professor, Wisconsin School of Business mfinster@bus.wisc.edu
Michael Casler Professor, Agronomy mdcasler@wisc.edu
Mary Blanchard Associate Director, Wisconsin Energy Institute mblanchard@energy.wisc.edu
Zhenqiang Ma Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering mazq@engr.wisc.edu
Luke Mawst Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering mawst@engr.wisc.edu
John Markley Professor, Biochemistry markley@nmrfam.wisc.edu
Manos Mavrikakis Paul A. Elfers Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering manos@engr.wisc.edu
Mark H. Anderson Research Professor, Engineering Physics manderson@engr.wisc.edu
Mahesh Mahanthappa Associate Professor, Chemistry mahesh@chem.wisc.edu
Robert Lorenz Consolidated Papers Professor of Controls Engineering, Mechanical Engineering lorenz@engr.wisc.edu
Steven Loheide Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering loheide@wisc.edu
Linda Graham Professor, Botany lkgraham@wisc.edu
Richard Lindroth Professor, Entomology lindroth@wisc.edu
Bernard Lesieutre Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering lesieutre@engr.wisc.edu
Robert Lasseter Emeritus Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering lasseter@engr.wisc.edu
Robert Landick Professor, Biochemistry landick@bact.wisc.edu
Kenneth Potter Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering kwpotter@wisc.edu
Kumar Sridharan Distinguished Research Professor, Engineering Physics kumar@engr.wisc.edu
Gerald Kulcinski Associate Dean for Research; Grainger Professor of Nuclear Engineering; Director, Fusion Technology Institute kulcinsk@engr.wisc.edu
Thomas Kuech Professor and Chair, Chemical and Biological Engineering kuech@engr.wisc.edu
Chris Kucharik Associate Professor, Agronomy and Environmental Studies kucharik@wisc.edu
Dan Klingenberg Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering klingen@engr.wisc.edu
Sanford Klein Ouweneel-Bascom Professor, Mechanical Engineering klein@engr.wisc.edu
James Steele Professor, Food Science jsteele@facstaff.wisc.edu
John Nelson Adjunct Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering jsnelson4@wisc.edu
Jack Huddleston Professor Emertius, Urban and Regional Planning jrhuddle@wisc.edu
John Ralph Professor, Biochemistry; Plants Leader, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center jralph@wisc.edu
Jean Bahr Professor, Geoscience jmbahr@geology.wisc.edu
Song Jin Professor, Chemistry jin@chem.wisc.edu
John Greenler Education and Outreach Director, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center jgreenler@glbrc.wisc.edu
Joel Rogers Professor, Administrative Law jerogers@wisc.edu, mbright@cows.org
Joshua Coon Professor, Chemistry and Biomolecular Chemistry jcoon@chem.wisc.edu
Jean-Michel Ane Associate Professor, Agronomy jane@wisc.edu
James LaGro Professor, Urban and Regional Planning jalagro@wisc.edu
Tom Jahns Grainger Professor of Power Electronics and Electrical Machines; Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering jahns@engr.wisc.edu
George Huber Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering huber@engr.wisc.edu
Hongrui Jiang Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering hongrui@engr.wisc.edu
Holly Gibbs Assistant Professor of Geography and Environmental Studies, Nelson Institute Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE) hkgibbs@wisc.edu
Heidi Kaeppler Associate Professor, Agronomy hfkaeppl@wisc.edu
Ive Hermans Associate Professor, Chemistry and Chemical and Biological Engineering hermans@chem.wisc.edu
Chris Hegna Professor, Engineering Physics hegna@engr.wisc.edu
Garret Suen Assistant Professor, Bacteriology gsuen@wisc.edu
Gary Radloff Director, Midwest Energy Policy Analysis, Wisconsin Energy Institute gradloff@energy.wisc.edu
Gregory Nemet Associate Professor, La Follette School of Public Affairs gnemet@lafollette.wisc.edu

Pages