University of Wisconsin-Madison Crest
Wisconsin Energy Institute

Energy Experts

From biofuels to batteries, UW-Madison has a wealth of expertise in energy. This resource connects you to UW-Madison faculty investigating cross-cutting issues in all areas of energy.

For specific media requests, please contact Mary Blanchard.

This directory is intended to serve as a central resource of energy experts throughout the University of Wisconsin-Madison, regardless of college or departmental affiliation. If you are a UW-Madison faculty member working in energy and would like to be added to this list, please email communications@wei.wisc.edu so that we can include you during our next round of updates.

Name Institutional Title Emailsort descending
Dietram Scheufele
Franklin Miller Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Mario Trujillo Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Chris Todd Hittinger Assistant Professor of Genetics
Garret Suen Assistant Professor of Bacteriology
Holly Gibbs Assistant Professor of Geography and Environmental Studies, Nelson Institute Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE)
Mitch Bradt Assistant Faculty Associate/Program Director for Engineering Professional Development
Claudio Canizares
Brian Pfleger Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Bruce Beihoff
Mark H. Anderson
Bernard Lesieutre
Rolf Reitz Wisconsin Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Teresa Adams Professor of Transportation Engineering and City Planning in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering adams@engr.wisc.edu
Audrey Gasch Assistant Professor agasch@wisc.edu
Todd Allen Assistant Professor of Nuclear Engineering allen@engr.wisc.edu
Joy Altwies Associate Faculty Associate/Program Director of Engineering Professional Development altwies@epd.engr.wisc.edu
Richard Amasino Professor amasino@biochem.wisc.edu
Ananth Krishnamurthy Associate Professor of Industrial & Systems Engineering ananth@engr.wisc.edu
Rob Anex Professor of Biological Systems Engineering anex@wisc.edu
Sue Babcock Professor babcock@engr.wisc.edu
Brad Barham Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics barham@mailplus.wisc.edu
William Beckman Ouweneel-Bascom Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering beckman@engr.wisc.edu
Craig Benson Wisconsin Distinguished Professor of Geological Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering benson@engr.wisc.edu
Brian Fox Marvin J. Johnson Professor in Fermentation Biochemistry bgfox@biochem.wisc.edu
Vicki Bier Professor of Industrial & Systems Engineering bier@ie.engr.wisc.edu
Bruce Kieffer Faculty Associate/Program Director of Engineering Professional Development bkieffer@wisc.edu
James Blanchard Professor of Industrial & Systems Engineering blanchard@engr.wisc.edu
John Booske Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering booske@engr.wisc.edu
Bulent Sarlioglu Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering bulent@engr.wisc.edu
Alan Carroll Professor Geology and Geophysics carroll@geology.wisc.edu
Cary Forest Associate Professor of Physics cbforest@facstaff.wisc.edu
Claudio Gratton Associate Professor of Entomology cgratton@wisc.edu
Chin Wu Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering chinwu@engr.wisc.edu
Christos Maravelias Associate Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering christos@engr.wisc.edu
Carol Barford Assistant Scientist at the Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment clbarford@wisc.edu
Michael Corradini Wisconsin Distinguished Professor - Engineering Physics; University of Wisconsin-Madison corradini@engr.wisc.edu
Mark Craven Professor craven@biostat.wisc.edu
Cameron Currie Associate Professor of Bacteriology currie@bact.wisc.edu
Dan Anderson Professor Emeritus of Wisconsin School of Business danderson@bus.wisc.edu
David Benton Informatics and Information Technology Director dbenton@glbrc.wisc.edu
Dominique Brossard Professor, Life Sciences Communication dbrossard@wisc.edu
Dane Morgan Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering ddmorgan@wisc.edu
David Drake Extension Wildlife Specialist, Associate Professor of Forest and Wildlife Ecology ddrake2@wisc.edu
Steven Deller Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics deller@aae.wisc.edu
Chris DeMarco Grainger Professor of Power Engineering demarco@engr.wisc.edu
Ankur Desai Assistant Professor of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences desai@aos.wisc.edu
Doug Reinemann Professor of Biological Systems Engineering djreinem@wisc.edu
Dave Keating Associate Scientist dkeating@glbrc.wisc.edu
Ian Dobson Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering dobson@engr.wisc.edu
Douglas Reindl Professor dreindl@wisc.edu
James Dumesic UW-Madison's Steenbock and Michel Boudart Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering dumesic@engr.wisc.edu
Paul Evans Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering evans@engr.wisc.edu
Michael Ferris Professor ferris@cs.wisc.edu
Dave Foster Phil and Jean Myers Professor of Mechanical Engineering foster@engr.wisc.edu
Dante Fratta Associate Professor of Geological Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering fratta@wisc.edu
Edward Friedman Professor of Political Science friedman@polisci.wisc.edu
Francesco Volpe Assistant Professor of Engineering Physics fvolpe@wisc.edu
Greg Nellis Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering gfnellis@engr.wisc.edu
Jaal Ghandhi Professor of Mechanical Engineering ghandhi@engr.wisc.edu
Giri Venkataramanan Assoicate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering giri@engr.wisc.edu
Gary Radloff Director, Midwest energy policy analysis, Wisconsin Energy Institute gradloff@energy.wisc.edu
Karsten Heeger Professor of Physics heeger@wisc.edu
Chris Hegna Professor of Engineering Physics hegna@engr.wisc.edu
Heidi Kaeppler Associate Professor of Agronomy hfkaeppl@wisc.edu
Hongrui Jiang Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering hongrui@engr.wisc.edu
George Huber Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering huber@engr.wisc.edu
Tom Jahns Grainger Professor of Power Electronics and Electrical Machines; Professor of Computer and Electrical Engineering jahns@engr.wisc.edu
James LaGro Professor of Urban and Regional Planning jalagro@wisc.edu
James Schneider Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering jamess@cae.wisc.edu
Jean-Michel Ane Assistant Professor of Agronomy jane@wisc.edu
Joshua Coon Associate Professor jcoon@chem.wisc.edu
Joel Rogers Professor of Wisconsin Strategy jerogers@wisc.edu, mbright@cows.org
John Greenler Education and Outreach Director, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center jgreenler@glbrc.wisc.edu
Song Jin Associate Professor of Chemistry jin@chem.wisc.edu
Jean Bahr Professor of Geology and Geophysics jmbahr@geology.wisc.edu
John Ralph Professor of Biochemistry jralph@wisc.edu
Jack Huddleston Professor of Urban and Regional Planning jrhuddle@wisc.edu
John Nelson Adjunct Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering jsnelson4@wisc.edu
James Steele Professor jsteele@facstaff.wisc.edu
Sanford Klein Ouweneel-Bascom Professor of Mechanical Engineering klein@engr.wisc.edu
Dan Klingenberg Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering klingen@engr.wisc.edu
Chris Kucharik Associate Professor of Agronomy and Environmental Studies kucharik@wisc.edu
Thomas Kuech Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering kuech@engr.wisc.edu
Gerald Kulcinski Associate Dean for Research Grainger Professor of Nuclear Engineering Director, Fusion Technology Institute kulcinsk@engr.wisc.edu
Kumar Sridharan Distinguished Research Professor of Engineering Physics kumar@engr.wisc.edu
Kenneth Potter Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering kwpotter@wisc.edu
Robert Landick Professor of Biochemistry landick@bact.wisc.edu
Robert Lasseter Emeritus Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering lasseter@engr.wisc.edu
Richard Lindroth Professor of Entomology lindroth@wisc.edu
Linda Graham Professor of Botany lkgraham@wisc.edu
Steven Loheide Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering loheide@wisc.edu
Robert Lorenz Consolidated Papers Professor of Controls Engineering, Mechanical Engineering lorenz@engr.wisc.edu
Mahesh Mahanthappa Assistant Professor of Chemistry mahesh@chem.wisc.edu
Manos Mavrikakis Paul A. Elfers Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering manos@engr.wisc.edu
John Markley Professor of Biochemistry markley@nmrfam.wisc.edu
Luke Mawst Professor mawst@engr.wisc.edu
Zhenqiang Ma Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering mazq@engr.wisc.edu
Michael Casler Professor mdcasler@wisc.edu
Carol Menassa MA Mortenson Assistant Professor in Construction Engineering and Management, Civil and Environmental Engineering menassa@wisc.edu

Pages